Dopeness: Prince Rogers Nelson

So, BET is honoring my favorite artist of all time Mr. Prince Rogers Nelson. First of all I connect with Prince because like him, I am a musician first. But my real connection starts with my Mother’s love of his music. I vividly remember my Mom standing in line to purchase his 1982 Double Album “1999”. I remember the purple cover, the number one that was shaped like a “you know what”, the football in the middle of the “I” in his name that read “and the revolution” backwards, basically connecting you from this album to the next one which would feature “The Revolution” in Purple Rain and the most important things I remember are the words: Produced, Written, Arranged, and Performed by: Prince.

I think that says it all. Prince is the smartest, most talented artist our generation has seen. I am so thankful that I have been able to witness 2 geniuses in my lifetime. MJJ and Prince. Prince is an artist that you have to pay close attention to because his artistry from his first album to his latest is connected. It’s like he plotted out his entire career and knew that if he stuck to the plan he would be legendary. He is the perfect mix of Hendrix, George Clinton, Herbie Hancock, Stevie Wonder, Sly Stone, and James Brown. He has been able to merge all styles of music together to create his own brand of funk. My first two movies were “Breakin'” and “Purple Rain”. I got to see both of them on the same day! Salute to the coolest guy in the music business. And one of the baddest musicians/artists on the planet!

-BMC

One thought on “Dopeness: Prince Rogers Nelson

Leave a Reply

