Throwback: Rufus & Chaka Khan “Ain’t Nobody”

I was watching Breakin’ today and I totally forgot that this song was in the movie. Brought back some incredible memories of my Mom and Aunties, old school house parties that were going on downstairs while I was in my room and couldn’t come out but could hear the music playing all night. This song was on the last album they ever made together “Stompin’ at the Savoy”. It was written by David “Hawk” Wolinski who is one of my favorite songwriters from that era. I love this music because this was the beginning of how we make music today. This song like many songs during the early 80’s used The Linn Drum as it’s foundation and it sounds soooo good. And this is a live performance of Chaka performing and she sounds impecable. I mean this is real talent.

God. Love. Life. Music.
-BMC

4 thoughts on “Throwback: Rufus & Chaka Khan “Ain’t Nobody”

  1. Ok I love Chaka Khan! She still sounds amazing, She was here in Houston at Herman Park over the summer…incredible.

    Breakin is the best dance movie of all time. It was on cable last month and I watched it like 4 times lol…ahhh 80’s…good times lol

  2. need to get ahold of you.have some young rap artist.and you are the man to mold them before unver.picks them up.email me please.this is not a joke.the real deal.great pics

  3. real quick, I play piano and read music, more so as a child but I have a keyboard in my room in case I get the urge to play, anytime I get the urge to play. The other night I got a melody to a song in my sleep. No I’m not weird, it happens all the time:) I got up and wrote it down on paper (music staff) It’s kind of a “groove jazz type” melody. I have no earthly idea what to do with it. I’m still working on it. Talk to me like a 3 yr old, can u “long story to short” tell me where to start? If so, grateful, if not thanks for reading.. twitter~~~>cashmyre

  4. I love Chaka Khan as well…. I went to check out the Jennifer Hudson concert in LA and she was a surprise guest. When she hit the stage I almost lost my mind. Lol… I love her energy!

Leave a Reply

